the oddest things happen to me, I swear

So this morning I walked out the door with everything I needed to head to work. I pulled the locked door shut behind me, and realized that my keys were still sitting calmly on the kitchen counter. So I circled the house looking for an unlocked window, and when I finally found one I managed to hoist myself in and retrieve my keys. It just made for an interesting start to the day. (Don’t worry–that window is now locked.)

Then later, I was working at the periodicals desk here in the library, and was facing the wall as I sorted a stack of magazines alphabetically. It was very quiet, and I gradually became aware of a very odd, squishy, un-librarylike noise. I turned to see what the source of that noise could be, and encountered the most unwelcome sight of a grown man, eyes closed, standing about 10 feet behind me, but still facing me, with his pants unzipped and his business all out, working away madly. Shocked, I said, “Sir?????” and he quickly came to his sense, tucked things back where they belonged, and departed the premises. I called security, but they missed seeing him (he was moving very quickly).

Most of the time, I love my job. Really. But sometimes I wonder. On the bright side, I now have yet another hilarious tale to add to the “crazy things that happen at the library” list. (Did I tell you about the lady who fell asleep at her computer because she was coming down off her high?)

~ by wildeyedwonder on May 29, 2007.

One Response to “the oddest things happen to me, I swear”

  1. Hahahahahahaha oh man.

    I got flashed today.

    Gross men out there

Leave a Reply

 
