beware the ides of October

Although autumn isn’t my favorite season (that would be summer) or even my second favorite season (that would be spring) it most decidedly fills the spot of “third favorite season.” And, although some people get all sad and longingish during the fall, I can’t help but be filled with anticipation for the wonderfulness that is to come, namely, Christmas. It’s 76 days away, and the gifts are piling up in the spare dresser. (The fact that we might get snow this week? Not so cool.)

I think it helps that now I live in a place where it looks  like fall. The leaves are turning all sorts of brilliant and improbable colors, and everywhere lawns are covered, looking like the L.L. Bean catalog covers that I so envied. (Note: I have NEVER jumped into a leaf pile, that I can recall.)

I’m anticipating Thanksgiving, too. I think this year I’m going to try to have all the family over to our apartment, and I’m ridiculously excited about baking a turkey and introducing mashed turnips to the lexicon.

Besides all that, fall has apple cider! And pumpkins! Truly, we need nothing more.

~ by wildeyedwonder on October 11, 2006.

One Response to “beware the ides of October”

  1. funny you mention mashed turnips. i was just craving some. and dreaming of the day where i have thanksgiving at MY house.

    oh. that will be a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

 
