I think I’ve exceeded my hospital time allotment for the year

Just got home from a couple of hours in ER.

Scene: in the living room. Mr. Man is watching an old Steve Martin and I’m reading a book. I hear my phone buzzing away in my purse and pick it up. It’s someone from church.

“Hey vdoprincess, what’s going on?”

“Um, what are you talking about?”

“What’s going on with the kids?”

“What about the kids?”

“R, E, L, and J were in an accident.”

dead silence. “You’re kidding, right? This is some sort of joke.”

“No, no, I’m serious.”

“I. Have. No. Idea.”

It turns out that they were getting ready to call us, but we called them. The particular people who called us had actually heard through the prayer chain and it had traveled to them before my in-laws called us. Impressive, no? And the pastor was at the hospital before we were.

So Reon was driving home from church with Eli, Leann, and Josh in the jeep. When turning, he did not see the oncoming vehicle, and it did not swerve. The jeep was hit on the right passenger side, right at the door. Eli was in buckled into that seat. She has two long cuts on her arm and will be fine. Reon, the driver, is fine. A couple of scratches. Josh has a buckle fracture in his right forearm and will be in a cast for 4 weeks. He was not buckled in. (Trust me–he was told to.) Leann was flung from the jeep and landed outside the vehicle. She was admitted to the hospital and is staying in ICU overnight. She has no bone damage, aside from a 2 mm skull fracture. I’ll be spending the day in the hospital with her tomorrow.

I’m glad they’re all ok.

~ by wildeyedwonder on September 9, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
