I was so tempted to be outraged

I mean, I suppose he has some points, if you look at things from a certain perspective. I guess if one considered puppies and children to be equally important, than yes, raising a child would be as hard as raising a puppy. (Although he neglects to mention the longer lifespan and considerably greater expense of children.) But if you believe, as I do, that people are inherently valuable because they’re made in the image of God, then raising a child takes on eternal ramifications. I refrained from commenting, simply because I’ve never raised a kid, so I have no personal experience from which to speak (which is, I think, what he might respect). Of course, he doesn’t either, as best I can tell…

~ by wildeyedwonder on July 13, 2006.

4 Responses to “I was so tempted to be outraged”

  1. You are right, I have as much (or little depending on how you view it) experience raising kids as the next guy… except…

    I raised my younger brother. From the age of 2 until he was 13, I was literally RESPONSIBLE for the wellbeing and guidance of my younger brother. This is a responsibility that was “given” to me at the tender age of 6. I know, sounds disturbing and it was. My mom left my father, brothers and I shortly after my younger brother was born.

    Am I speaking from a place of experience? Yeah, i think so. The only thing I didn’t have to do was give birth and breast feed, but everything else? Yeah, me.

    And as far as puppies and children go, indeed a child’s life span is longer. There is no argument there, but then again… as a parent, your physical responsibilities for the child END after the first say 18 years (which is arguably the average lifespan of a dog). I’m not saying you stop caring and worrying about your child after that time, but you can pretty much expect that child to be able to care for himself… then again, if you have a kid who is 18 and still unable to care for him/herself, chances are you messed up as a parent somewhere along the line.

    As far as the whole “image of god thing,” children are children no matter what your belief system. Since this is my first visit to your blog, I won’t even get into a religious discussion.

    Thanks for your visit.

  2. I think you’re missing his point. His point is that being a “stay-at-home-mom” is NOT “just as hard” as being a working mom. Think about it, what makes being a stay at home mome hard? Keeping up the house and worrying about the kids? Working moms have to do that too, on top of working a job.

    We’ve asked ourselves what exactly our mother did all day because we did the cleaning, cooking, and schooling. In short, we did everything so what was there for her to do? I still don’t know and still haven’t figured out what on earth stay-at-home-moms do all day once their kids go off to school.

    To say that a woman who works 40 hours a week, cleans her house, cooks for her family, does the shopping, and helps with the homework has the same amount of stress/difficulty as a woman who cleans her house, cooks for her family, does the shopping, and helps with the homework is illogical.

  3. No, I don’t think I am missing his point. I agree that being a working is probably physically harder than being a stay-at-home mom, and contains terrific emotional stress. Although being a stay-at-home mom has a whole different level of emotional stress that I’m not going to go into at right now, that’s not what I was objecting to. I’m offended by the statement that raising a kid is the same level of hardness as raising a puppy.

  4. Hhahahaha… well, if the most offensive thing you found in my blog is a comparison to dogs as it pertains to raising children, I’m happy.

    Perhaps you think there is something inherently wrong with making a comparison between and animal and a child, but the truth is… i wasn’t comparing children to dogs… i was comparing raising children to raising dogs. Neither is hard if you are firm, loving, and intelligent.

Leave a Reply

 
