sad confession

I am completely addicted to Firefly. If I want to start laughing, all I have to do is start remembering oneliners from “Our Mrs. Reynolds.” Last night we started two movies, ones we finally got in after requesting them months ago, and finished neither. Neither the new Pride and Predjudice nor Corpse Bride could hold our attention–we both wanted more Firefly.

Note: P&P is actually quite lame, or at least what I saw of it was. It’s probably unfair to compare it to the mini-series, but there’s nothing unjust about comparing it to the book. It does a singularly horrendous job of capturing the atmosphere of the book, developing characters, or even making me like Miss Elizabeth Bennett. And Keira Knightly got an Oscar nomination for it? I honestly have no idea why, except that “the camera loves her.” Which it does, but she still can’t act. As to Corpse Bride, I think we’re just not hardcore Tim Burton fans. Or we weren’t in the mood for his style.

So anyway, as final proof of my lame addictedness: I learned there’s a comic book the bridges the gap between “Firefly” and “Serenity” and I totally requested it from the library today. As well as looking up anything else I could find that Joss Whedon has written. (Did you know he wrote Toy Story? Neither did I.) Expect way too much sci-fi in the next few weeks.

I’m also obsessed with Robert Altman, based solely on the fact that I luuuurve Gosford Park. Which, of course, reminded me that I haven’t watched any Clive Owen movies lately. I want to remedy this situation, but I’m not sure I can bring myself to watch King Arthur, since a) it’s shockingly inaccurate, and b) it contains more Keira Knightly flouncing about, and I’m not sure I can deal with that.

~ by wildeyedwonder on June 27, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
