head spinning

I just finished reading one of the best books I’ve picked up so far this year (and the count thus far is thirty), and I feel like I’ve been drinking from a fire hydrant. I want to read it again, just to make sure I get this information, but I think I’ll let my husband take a crack at it.
The name is Hoodwinked: How intellectual hucksters have hijacked american culture, and it’s fascinating. I guess it starts out feeling a little conspiracy theorist–after all, everyone knows what Stalin did during the communist purges, right?–but it gets better, revealing major cultural “institutions” such as Margret Mead, Kinsey, Darwin, and the non-gay AIDS crisis, for the fabrications and frauds upon which each of these ideas is based. It’s good, really. Conservative in viewpoint, to be sure, but well-researched and scrupulously annotated.
I just have to share one of the final paragraphs. It’s actually quoting another book, but it communicates the over-arching viewpoint of this point, one I found curiously refreshing.

…Santinover traces the roots of the sexual revolution to the very denial of God. For nearly four thousand years, Jews and later Christians found in the glory of an ethical, just, monotheistic God an agreed upon morality and a higher, more trancendent purpose than the satisfying of one’s own entirely natural instincts. The discipline this tradition imposed on man’s nature allowed him to thrive and accomplish wonders that the natureworshipping, polytheistic pagan never could.
“The entire debate about homosexuality,” writes Santinover, “is inextricably rooted in the Judeo-Christian concept of sin.” Santinover argues that the rejection of sin in this tradition is not a rejection of the unnatural but the rejection of a slavish compulsive addiction to what is natural and pleasurable. In essence, the sinner violates the first commandment, “I am the Lord thy God and thou shall not have strange Gods before me.” That “strange god” is man’s nature, tooth and claw.

All of these faulty philosophies, failing ideas, and fraudulent claims come back to one common mistake: believing that man is the greatest good, the highest thinking, the ultimate wisdom. Where such is believed, destruction can only follow.

~ by wildeyedwonder on May 4, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
