I amaze myself sometimes

I mean, how can someone just lose a sewing machine? It’s not like I have thousands of square feet of spce in which to hide things; we have an apartment and a downstairs storage room, and that’s it.
It’s not like we have heaps of junk; our furniture could be politely referred to as “sufficient.”
And yet I cannot find the sewing machine. I’ve looked everywhere at least twice, and it’s just gone. As is the liscense plate that needs to go on the car.
At least I got the basement clean.

~ by wildeyedwonder on January 18, 2006.

3 Responses to “I amaze myself sometimes”

  1. Dahling, that’s because it is sitting in our laundry room. Waiting for it’s owner to visit.

  2. It is? I could have sworn we took it out there. Didn’t we? Are you SURE it’s in the laundry room??

  3. Hi Laura,
    I don’t DO blogs. But my kids do, and Rebecca burst out laughing at your sewing machine deal. She told me about it, so I have to tell you our story.
    We moved from Broken Arrow to the end of the world, here in Mangum. It took weeks to get everything unpacked, but we finally did, or so I thought. But like you, I couldn’t find my machine. I don’t sew much, except to mend things, so it wasn’t urgent that I find it right away. haha! But after months I finally became really disturbed at not being able to find it. I began to imagine that I had loaned it to someone in BA, and even conjured up images in my head of seeing Noah carrying it out to someone’s car. But for the life of me, I couldn’t bring the image of the face of the person I’d loaned it to, so I could call them and ask them if they’d gladly return my machine. Months turned into two years.
    We moved into an old house here, that has only a few small closets. We left one of the moving wardrobe boxes together, and used it for just that, a wardrobe box with coats, in the back “mudroom-hallway.” Okay, so this is really stupid, but one day, I was digging through the wardrobe to find a coat, and felt this hard, big thing down on bottom! Voila! Sewing machine!
    So………….. I suggest you look in all the places you would never expect to find it, and see if it doesn’t turn up. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Blessings to you!
    Congratulations on your recent marriage!!!!!
    Love,
    Mrs. Downing

    PS Don’t worry your pretty little head about that car anymore, either! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
