a jonah day

Yesterday was one of those days that make you glad you can’t live a day over–we didn’t want to. Not this one.
It didn’t start out bad. In fact, I was mentally composing posts about how domesticated we’re becoming; we were both excited that there was nothing scheduled for our weekend, so we go to sleep in. Please start groaning now. So there we were, all charming and cozy, he in his plaid pajama pants, eating pancakes, me in sweats with my hair pulled back, making last-minute changes to the video. Occaisionally we would pause to watch the fat squirrel that lives in our backyard and I would beg him to let me own some small, adorable rodent, to no avail.
It wasn’t any big thing that made the day bad; it was small things. I was peevish because I felt a cold hatching. We quarreled over something stupid. We were both cranky and tired of shopping and I was dehydrated. We (finally) bought a scale and discovered we both weigh more than at any previous* point in our lives.
He went to the church to finish cleaning; I stayed at the house to wash dishes and get some much-needed space. And while he was at it, compress the video so it could be shown in church today. Through a long, complicated, tangled series of events, my harddrive got…tweaked. So nothing on it can be accessed by anyone. No video today. All my earlier work is on there.
We were very subduded last night, and glad to wake up this morning, because, if I can begin with an Anne quote, I can end with one too: “Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it.” Emphasis on the yet.

~ by wildeyedwonder on January 8, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
