reason number 62 to elope

Scene: rehearsal dinner. Mother in Law is sitting across from Mother of Bride.
MIL: What’s Holy Father’s first name? I just drew a complete blank.
MOB: Idiot. Retard. Smartass.
MIL: *shocked face*
MOB: Loser. Control freak.
MIL: *still speechless*
MOB: (droning on) Chauvinist. Dictator.
End Scene.

~ by wildeyedwonder on November 22, 2005.

2 Responses to “reason number 62 to elope”

  1. On a related note, I was talking to somebody today, and they said “They say guys marry women like their mothers”.

    Now, I don’t know who “They” are, but I’ll tell you what I told them: “I’m not going to marry a girl like my mother. I prefer [consistency] in life.”

    PS: Were there enough ambiguous pronouns in that sentence?

  2. Actually, despite her inconsitancies, our mother does have a considerable number of good points. I would definitely advise marrying a girl similar to mom in her beauty, love of learning, networking skills, ability to live on a tight budget, incredible social skills (despite the anecdote just related, she can be very gracious when she wants), and keen love of quality books. Granted, you want a girl just a tad more stable mentally, but you would do very well to marry a girl similar to mom in some of her better aspects.

Leave a Reply

 
