homesick

I was home at last. Back in our little apartment, with my computer and my husband, all I need to be happy, right?
The whole drive home I’d been happily planning how to arrange the apartment. We’d talked about how to decorate for Christmas, how he celebrates as opposed to me. We’re going to do stockings–I’ve always wanted to do stockings. I’m going to rearrange and make this place look fabulous.
He carried me across the doorstep, and we set about bringing up my things from the car, I started going through the mail. But somewhere in there, it hit me: I miss my sisters. It’s never going to be the same again. I’m gone, I left them. That’s when I started crying.
And as I cried, he held me until I fell asleep.

~ by wildeyedwonder on November 20, 2005.

3 Responses to “homesick”

  1. Please know that we (your lesbian lover sisters) held each other and cried the night that you left.

    We miss you.

  2. Hi Laura…. I have enjoyed reading over your posts…You have such a beautiful writing style! This post was esp touching to me, as it caused me to remember my first night home after our honeymoon… I missed my sisters (and mom) so much, too! Praise the Lord for loving and caring husbands! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your heart with us! God bless you and your new marriage!
    Love in Christ,
    ~Tiffany

  3. Yes,they were happy tears, it’s been a good life.
    To quote Paul perdue, “And now the page has turned”
    Live every day as if it is your last, here’s to happy tears.
    I signed as anonomous because every time I sign up, I loose or forget my password.

    Pops

Leave a Reply

 
