bad, bad memories

Found this on a very young, very sincere blog.

After the excitement we lined up with the throngs of people to try and get on a shuttle bus back to where our vans were parked. While waiting we started singing hymns and other Christian songs. People turned and looked; they asked questions about us; they stared; they smiled; we made our presence known. We were being a shining light in the midst of darkness.

Reading that made the hair stand up on the back of my neck. Singing in a crowd is being a light in the midst of darkness. Uh-huh. Maybe it’s just weird.

~ by wildeyedwonder on November 3, 2005.

9 Responses to “bad, bad memories”

  1. Wow.

    Can we say “eerie flashbacks?”

  2. AAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH

    Thank you for bringing up painful memories of having to sing for food and looking like a gay boy’s choir.

    Smile Song anyone??

  3. a smile, a smile…to make this life worthwhile….

    *moan*

    wait a minute…there aren’t twelve year olds in those pictures!!

    did i miss the part where they grow up ? ? ?

  4. pleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaase!!!

    MAKE IT STOP!!!!!!

  5. My skin started crawling and I broke out in a cold sweat when I read that.

    Maybe, maybe people started staring because they sounded like a scary chanting cult.

    But you know–that’s just my worldly opinion.

  6. *a smile, precious smile Jesus gives me!*

    Unbelievable. I’ve been out of the loop for so long that sometimes I forget that “they” are still out there.

  7. Don’t slam David Wise. (First PIX) He is a friend of mine.
    (Really, he is! But go ahead and and slam him. He is cool, and can take it from you bullies.)

    On the other hand, did you know that holding up Bush signs and screaming very loud has the same spiritual value in God’s eyes as prayer, fasting, and Bible study all put together?

  8. WOW!!! How do you get that? Cheering for a sinner vs. praising and worshiping our perfect Lord. How do you come to the conclusion that these two things are the same thing? Careful with your answer and back it up with scripture.

    And I am not making fun of the dude, I am making fun of all of them. And the things I used to do that I now look at from a differant perspective.

  9. Wow, Eddie,
    I guess the whole misunderstanding thing runs in the family. (You know my sister) My point was that many people view worldy politics as right/wrong, and thereby end up worshiping the wrong things.

    I know, I was an ATI junkie too.

    P.S. The entire post was sarcasim, save for the fact that I know Dave.

Leave a Reply

 
