friday linkage

Since I’m going to be gone all weekend, I present yet another special edition of links guaranteed so shock, amuse, or interest. Or maybe all three.
  • Ladies and gentlemen, may I present the definitive source of ways to annoy people. My favorite? “Buy some turtles. Paint numbers on their backs. Race them down the hall.”
  • If you aren’t an ardent kottke reader and therefore haven’t heard about it, check out the million-dollar homepage. Seriously brilliant idea.
  • Just what you always needed: a sock calculator. But what if, like me, you hate socks? What if, also like me, you currently own only one pair? There are too many variables here.
  • Did you know that Aussie slang is called Strine? Neither did I.
  • Also very disappointed that Delaware is not represented in the phooning database. Must remedy that.
  • What is Hi Magazine? I’m not sure. I do know that it’s published “on behalf of the Bureau of International Information Programs (IIP) at the U.S. Department of State.” And why exactly is there a Bureau of International Information Programs? No offense, Queen of Slackers, but I sure am glad that I don’t work for bureaucrats. They have a serious talent for naming things and revealing absolutely nothing about the purpose of said thing.
  • If I were a speech economist, I’m sure there would be a world of valuable data here. As it is, I’ll just read in bemused fascination; I didn’t know there was more than one way to say “almond.”
  • Is it just me, or is a youth culture called “spank” just a little bit strange?

And there we have it. A rather unexciting finish to my very unremarkable week.

~ by wildeyedwonder on October 14, 2005.

3 Responses to “friday linkage”

  1. I adore the Phoon site! We totally need to do a photo. I wonder if we could get Gov. Minner to? You know, tell her that DE is not represented…I’m sure she’ll be at the Punkin’ Chunkin’ festival.

  2. Well, it gives us all something to do anyway.

  3. Seriously, you need to put a warning on these things. I let out a snort as one of the lawyers past. Not good. 😉

    I love the annoying people thing.

    Ways to Annoy Public Bathroom Stallmates: Cheer and clap loudly every time someoe breaks the silence w/ a bodily function noise.

    That’s just great comedy

Leave a Reply

 
