sometimes I dream

I dream of what life will be, when I’m married and waking up next to Mr. Man, when I won’t have to say goodbye to him again, when every breath won’t remind me that I’m not next to him. I dream of laughing at him because he’s better at ironing than I am, of crying with him as we face the inevitable, and of building a life with him.
I dream of raising a family, and testing out all these theories about child-rearing, and finding out they’re all wrong, I’m woefully inadequate, and it’s only the grace of God that any child turns out well.
Sometimes I dream about getting old, and how it will be when I have earned the right to act how I want. I hope I’m one of those gracious old ladies that everyone loves, the ones that have enough padding to make hugging them fun, but not so much that you can’t get your arms around. I hope I have spunk, though, and can well imagine that I’ll still be doing things like hiding Mr. Man’s false teeth and pretending that he just forgot where he left them.
Sometimes I dream of how life was, when the world felt perfect, even though it wasn’t, and everything that happened was material for the bestselling novel I was going to write one day.
And sometimes, sometimes I wake up from my dreams and realize that’s all they are: dreams, but I have this day, this moment, this opportunity, and I will live it to the fullest.

~ by wildeyedwonder on September 30, 2005.

One Response to “sometimes I dream”

  1. AWW. VERY VERY cool. May God give you the dreams of your heart! šŸ™‚ Love you!

Leave a Reply

 
