review: why should the fire die? by Nickel Creek

Totally in love. I picked this up on a whim this weekend, having flipped through it at Borders and liking some of their earlier songs, and now I can’t stop listening to it.
It’s completely acoustic, like their earlier work, but it doesn’t sound like bluegrass as much as, maybe, what would happen if Norah Jones had a guitar and a voice more like Allison Krauss. It flows from song to song, carrying you along with it, tasting of celtic and bluegrass, fiddles and bob dylan, and something else that’s just them.
I’m a lyrics girl, and some of their lyrics are just great. Like this one, from the bitter, wry, witty “somebody more like you.” I hope you meet someone your height/ So you can see eye-to-eye/ With someone as small as you. What an awesome kiss-off! In “doubting thomas” they meditate on what exactly faith means, although the object of their faith is left in question. Please give me time to decipher the signs/ Please forgive me for time that I’ve wasted.
But my favorite is the title track. Why should the fire die?/ My mom and dad kept theirs alive. And the best line: I’m just happier being confused/ Beside the fire, as long as it’s with you.
This review isn’t terribly in depth, but the CD is. So just listen to that instead.

~ by wildeyedwonder on September 19, 2005.

2 Responses to “review: why should the fire die? by Nickel Creek”

  1. I so cannot wait to rip that one. Hooray free music!

  2. I saw a bit on them yesterday on MSNBC; it sounded really good!

Leave a Reply

 
