going to the chapel and I’m…

Gonna get mar-ar-ar-ied.

Well, not for a few more weeks. (Only 107 more days!) But I am driving out to Ohio this weekend, and I took off an extra day so that I could spend more time with his family. After last weekend, I think I’ve gotten in all the “family time” a girl could need, but I’m still not giving up my precious day off work. This was planned before it was decided that his family would come out here instead of going to Florida, so instead of not seeing Mr. Man for three whole weeks, I get to see him two weekends in a row! Happiness and joy.

No deep thoughts today, no motivational quotes, nothing profound. Only a simple question: how do you want to be remembered? Are you living with that in mind?

I know that I want people to say, “She loved life, she loved people, but most of all, she loved her Lord.” Is that going to be the case? I don’t know. I do know that often I fall short of loving others. I find myself almost unconciously ripping apart a bad outfit, a snooty attitude, an imagined slight. And I fail to acknowledge that my actions are much more offensive, because I should know better. Amy Carmichael said, “For a cup brimful of sweet water cannot spill even one drop of bitter water, however suddenly jolted.”

Father, fill me with Your love that, no matter how jolted, I spill only sweetness.

~ by wildeyedwonder on July 28, 2005.

One Response to “going to the chapel and I’m…”

  1. i got a little shiver when i read that quote.

Leave a Reply

 
