in which I simply quote a bunch of songs

My current obession is any song written by Andrew Peterson; his voice isn’t anything to write home about, but his lyrics. The one that’s been stuck in my head all day is off the album “Carried Along:” I don’t need her love to love her all I can.

And then this section from “The Silence of God:”
It’s enough to drive a man crazy; it’ll break a man’s faith
It’s enough to make him wonder if he’s ever been sane
When he’s bleating for comfort from thy staff and Thy rod
And the heaven’s only answer is the silence of God…
And the man of all sorrows, He never forgot
What sorrow is carried by the hearts that He bought
So when the questions dissolve into the silence of God
The aching may remain, but the breaking does not…

One that I quote a lot, from “Just as I am:”
It’s the fear that I’ll fall one too many times/it’s the fear that His love is no better than mine.”

I’ll stop after this one, from “After the Last Tear Falls:”
We’ll see how the tears that have fallen
Were caught in the palms
Of the Giver of love and the Lover of all
And we’ll look back on these tears as old tales

~ by wildeyedwonder on July 11, 2005.

One Response to “in which I simply quote a bunch of songs”

  1. I still tear up when I hear After The Last Tear Falls.

    So many memories of crying ourselves to sleep while our tears soaked the carpet…

    Ah. Childhood.

Leave a Reply

 
