total bum

I didn’t watch a single firework this year. Didn’t create any, either, unlike Barbie. I just picked crabs, chatted with old family friends, and worked on my wedding dress.
And you know what? I’m okay with that. Somewhere along the line, I lost the compulsion to always be doing something, wether it was working or shopping or hanging with friends. I’ve learned that it’s ok to just stay in my apartment, working on whatever my current project is, being quiet.
It’s refreshing, somehow. I don’t feel this drive to be networking, introducing myself, making new friends. I don’t have to be funny, charming, pretty. I can just be.
It’s easier this way.

~ by wildeyedwonder on July 5, 2005.

4 Responses to “total bum”

  1. *smoldering glare*

  2. My reasons were far more selfish and read like the diagnosis of anti-social personality disorder:

    do not feel like being around people

    will choke small children who wave sparklers at me

    bobbing for hot dogs never did appeal to me

  3. You should read my post for today. I spent the fourth with my drunken neighbor yelling, “Fuck you all, fuck all a’ya’ll” at me and my wife and everyone within earshot. But the fireworks were lovely. I just wish I had one of my very own to shove up his drunken redneck ass and light.

    Hmm, this sounds like a job for …. THE PORKCHOP AVENGER!

    What do you think? Can I hire her for a day? I just need one little skinny redneck blown to smithereans. And I need to be somewhere conspicuous when it happens, like say, standing in the police station talking to a detective or something.

    “What’s that? My neighbor has just been blown up? Why, who, WHO would do such a thing?!”

  4. MS–

    I was sitting at my desk, crying, being depressed and lonely and then I read your comment.

    And I laughed through tears.

    Thanks ever so much.

Leave a Reply

 
