the color of dreams

I wonder if half the reason I love summer so much is the light; it’s warm and golden, bathing everything in this glow that colors my memories for years afterwards.
This weekend was like that. Everytime I think about it, it’s golden. We walked along the canal and jumped from rock to rock like little kids. We took the two youngest kids minature golfing and tied boys vs. girls. We rode in a convertible and tried to hit the roadsigns with m&ms as we passed. We laughed and talked and laughed some more, and every moment I was falling more in love with this man: this wise and wonderful, silly and solemn man that I’m going to marry in November.
He’s strong and sweet, he knows how to cook and how to make me laugh. He’s the only person on the planet who can tickle me; he knows when I’m serious and then he listens. I miss him already, and it’s been only 23 hours since I last saw him.
In my mind’s eye, it’s all gold.

~ by wildeyedwonder on May 23, 2005.

2 Responses to “the color of dreams”

  1. Just for the record, I think you need to change your tag line to “All twitterpaited and shit“.

    You know, just because you love me.

  2. Don’t you love that feeling? James and I have been married for eight years this summer. The other day, he took my face in both of his hands and kissed me and I swore I was 18 again and it was our first kiss.. but better. You go girl.

    And thanks for reading mine.

Leave a Reply

 
