domestic benefits

This whole “having our own apartment” thing has unleashed a monster, I think. Besides my normal shopping obsessions of shoes and purses, I can now acquire housewares. Let the buying sprees begin!
Random teacups, assorted table linens, old books, slipcovers, fabrics–I can buy them all now. The Internet is doing nothing to stop this addiction, either. Instead, it’s providing greater variety than one small town can give. I no longer have to limit myself to the brass-framed prints and beige furniture so popular in rural America! English chintz, black-and-white photography, random wallpaper, and tongue-in-cheek shower curtains are all mine for the taking as long as my pockets are deep enough. *sigh* Therein lies the rub.
I’m currently coveting:
a ironing board cover. Our awesome vintage board that I picked up at Goodwill needs a little lovin.
paint-by-number wallpaper. How cool would it be to have a wallpaper-painting party? (link via the ultra-cool design*sponge, who has way too much cool stuff)
a new chandelier. I mean, people burst out laughing when they see ours!
And everyone needs a fat, squashy teapot. You have to use those vintage teacups for something, after all.

~ by wildeyedwonder on April 20, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
