when plans get changed

I’ve been working hard to finish the editing of the Easter Pageant for my old church; unfortunately it’s more time-consuming than I had hoped. Since I’m using the original recorded narration for cleaner sound, I’m having to strip out all the sound and resynch the soundtrack, the music, and the two visual tracks. Fun, what? And I resynch everything after any kind of pause in the narration, which could happen after 3 words or 13 lines. So anyway, it’s taking longer than I thought.
So I really should have been editing last night.
Not to mention I had a list of things to accomplish before Mr. Man arrives today. The plan was for him to leave this morning around 8:00 and drive all day, arriving about 4, when I’ll be off work. We’ve been planning this trip for a couple of weeks, and are going to pack in as much as we can, including a visit with the grandparents, a trip to the Cherry Blossom Festival, and a visit to the beach. That last last bit is important–the beach has always been a big part of our relationship. It was his excuse for coming to visit that first time, it was where he first admitted his interest, it was where we went on one of our first dates and watched the stars with a thermos of tea and pile of sandwiches, it’s where we’ve visited almost every time he’s been here, and it’s the thing about the East Coast that I’m going to miss when I (someday) move to Ohio. Ok, end sidetrack here. Suffice it to say that I had things to do.
But Pageant Barbie had asked me to go to the outlets with her to look for a dress for the upcoming gala. Of course I’m up for a shopping trip! Especially one in which I will not be required to spend money. *devilish grin*
I did my taxes after I got off work and we were off to search for the perfect gala gown. There were specific requirements: no black, nothing retro, something classic, and sleek and smashing and absolutely fabulous. On a budget. We were pumped.
As we drove I mentioned the lack of caffiene in my system, and PB suggested a little independant coffee shop that she loves over there. “It will be a little out of our way, do you mind?” Never! The more coffee, the merrier, I always say. So we passed the outlets and I made a list of the ones we needed to hit. “Banana Republic. Ann Taylor. Maybe Talbots? Well, we can always try…”
Headed into downtown Rehoboth, we stopped at the shop. it was closed. Of course! It’s the off season. Jo wanted to drive down to where she knew the next one was, and we passed the White/Black. Jumped out there so she could show me this dress, which we loved, but agreed it might be a bit out of the price range.
Went further, still looking for coffee. The Thai place didn’t sell it to go, and everywhere else just sold french fries. Which by this time were starting to smell reallyreally good.
Since we were so close to the actual beach, Jo overrode my protests of “but I’ll get sand in my shoes and have to walk around like that all evening” and convinced me to kick off my shoes and run across the sand.
It was gorgeous down on the beach; completely deserted, and the sun was beginning to slant across the sand between buildings. We ran down, carrying our shoes, until we hit another patch of sunlight.
“I’m stopping here; it’s too hard to have good form when you’re carrying a purse and shoes.”
Jo stopped too, and drew a circle in the sand.
“Do me a favor?”
“Sure.” Whatever. If she wanted to delay the shopping trip that much…
“Stand in this circle and face the ocean.”
“Ok.”
“Now close your eyes and keep them closed.”
Now this was weird. But I complied and stood there until I felt two very familiar arms wrap around me. Then my eyes flew open and my Mr. Man was there, holding a bouquet of roses, their stems ribbon-tied.
I squealed, of course. He wasn’t supposed to be here for another day!
He held me close.
“I’m nervous.”
“Don’t be.”
“I love you.”
“I love you, too.”
“I love you, and I want you to be mine forever.”
He got down on one knee, still holding my hands.
“Princess, will you marry me?”
I said yes.
Sometimes it’s good when plans get changed.

~ by wildeyedwonder on April 14, 2005.

13 Responses to “when plans get changed”

  1. That is freaking awesome! Sounds like you have a good (great?) man Princess! Congratulations, and may God bless you both.

  2. BRILLIANT!

    Congrats!

  3. That is AWESOME!!! What a sweet story. Congratulations! Do y’all have a date yet?

  4. Sigh. And it is the beginning of the end of The Sisters as we know them.

    But congratulations anyway, love!

  5. What a blessing and great new beginning!! Congratulations.

  6. I’m so happy for you! Hope you will always be as happy as you are today!

  7. HOORAY! This is me doing a little happy dance just for you, dearest Laura (and of course for your wonderful Mr. Man!)

    -Dee
    Founder and President, the Laura Slabaugh-soon-not-to-be-Slabaugh Fan Club

  8. Plus it is now your birthday, yes? Happy Birthday to you! What a gift!

  9. CONGRATS!!

  10. marvelous. y’gotta love it.

  11. Hey Laura!
    Congratulations!!! πŸ™‚
    Give me a call soon so we can catch up… 678.362.0352 – I’m sooooo happy for you!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    -Luke at Duke

  12. could we get a “how we met” story? Congratulations!!!:)

  13. I love you SO much and I am VERY happy for you.. He’s one freakin’ lucky dude..

Leave a Reply

 
