why not to go to the grocery store when bored

We all know you’re not supposed to go food shopping when you’re hungry. I mean, it just makes sense! But since I’m always hungry, I’ve had to get over impulse food shopping and now I have a routine. I buy baby carrots, sliced turkey, rice cakes, Granny Smith apples. Maybe some Ramen Noodles or peanut sauce or fresh green beans. But the other night I was food shopping and I was just bored. Everything was old and tired. Baby carrots? Too crunchy. Turkey? Too pale. Rice cakes? Too much like styrofoam. Apples were too green. Even Ramen Noodles lost their appeal.
So I was reduced to wandering the aisles, hoping something remotely easy to cook caught my eye.
I walked out of the store with a pound of angel hair, a jar of alfredo sauce, a box of graham crackers and a jar of nutella. Totally balanced diet.
On the upside, I discovered that graham crackers smeared with nutella and topped with sliced bananas make a wonderful snack.

~ by wildeyedwonder on March 28, 2005.

2 Responses to “why not to go to the grocery store when bored”

  1. Well, this morning, on my way home from the gym, I stopped for groceries and was shocked to realize how healthy my shopping basket was. I mean, it almost looked like my uber-healthy mother’s! The nicest part of eating healthy is that it is cheap. I mean, the whole week’s worth of food cost $22. How cool is that?
    – 4 cans tuna (light, water-packed chunk)
    – 1 bag brown rice
    – 1 carton Quick Oats
    – 1 bag of fresh spinach
    – 2 bunches brocolli
    – 2 dozen eggs
    – 6 whole-wheat bagels
    – 1 bottle balsalmic vinigrette
    – 1 thingie boneless skinless chicken thighs

    You didn’t really want to know exactly what I’m eating this week, did you? But I feel so virtuous and healthy I have to share!

  2. Well, this morning, on my way home from the gym, I stopped for groceries and was shocked to realize how healthy my shopping basket was. I mean, it almost looked like my uber-healthy mother’s! The nicest part of eating healthy is that it is cheap. I mean, the whole week’s worth of food cost $22. How cool is that?
    – 4 cans tuna (light, water-packed chunk)
    – 1 bag brown rice
    – 1 carton Quick Oats
    – 1 bag of fresh spinach
    – 2 bunches brocolli
    – 2 dozen eggs
    – 6 whole-wheat bagels
    – 1 bottle balsalmic vinigrette
    – 1 thingie boneless skinless chicken thighs

    You didn’t really want to know exactly what I’m eating this week, did you? But I feel so virtuous and healthy I have to share!

Leave a Reply

 
