feeling very un-smart

Last night I was reading through the sites nominated for the Bloggies, finding some new favorites, and I ran across this article on “how to blog.” Some good advice, including “post often” and “don’t give anyone you know your blog address.” Hmm. I should have thought of that sooner.
So I’m checking out the Wall Street Journal’s opinion page (part of my daily routine) and Peggy Noonan has a column about bloggers this morning and it was well-written, thought-provoking, and witty. As usual. It talks about how bloggers are changing the way we hear news, reshaping debates and allowing us to hear more than one perspective.
And then I check the post listing for my blog and discovered that last night, every time an error message popped up saying “cannot find site” it was actually posting, so I had a TRIPLE POST.
Suffice it to say that I feel quite inadequate in the blogosphere. I have no witty bon mots, no devastatingly brilliant commentary, no lyrical prose. Instead, all I have is an obesession with bragging on my family, a tendency to run on about my Mr. Man, a penchant for making new headers, and the occasional interesting link posted between ringing phones and giving quotes for turf.
But you know what? That’s ok. Because that pretty much describes me. And though it would be interesting to be one of those bloggers whose name is bandied about on the evening news, I’ll pass.
It’s fun being me.

~ by wildeyedwonder on February 17, 2005.

3 Responses to “feeling very un-smart”

  1. I would just like to say, I think people who consider “blogging” merely abbreviating news stories with their own view point, a complete and total copout. And completely and totally uninteresting.

    So there.

  2. You wrote:
    I have no witty bon mots, no devastatingly brilliant commentary, no lyrical prose. Instead, all I have is an obesession with bragging on my family, a tendency to run on about my Mr. Man,

    …And that’s great!!! i get tired after ingesting too many “bon mots” – especially after dinner.
    You are a child of the universe – shine ON!!
    peace
    bodhi

  3. boring blogs are great!!! shows us that other people JUST LIVE LIFE, too :).

    and if i needed more political commentary, i’d call my grandma instead of reading blogs. i’d get to argue more and still get pie out of the deal.

Leave a Reply

 
