just call me spoiled

It was one small step for mankind, but one giant leap toward adulthood for me. Tonight Dad and I drove up to the Department of Motor Vehicles and registered my car. My car! I can’t get tired of typing that. We’ve had it for about a week now, but it has needed to go through inspection, and I
a) haven’t had time
b) don’t know how.
I’m funny that way; I’m scared to do to “grown-up” things that I’ve never done before, things that I feel like I should know how to do, but just don’t, because I’ve never done them before. I try not to let it keep me from those things…but am I the only 23-year-old who feels like a little kid masquerading as an adult? Like I have to be careful or people will figure out I’m not a grown-up at all?
And so when I do master something that I should know anyway, from changing a flat tire to handling credit cards, I feel a tiny sense of satisfaction: I’m not as helpless as I was a few minutes ago.

~ by wildeyedwonder on February 16, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
