chav

Don’t you just love Brit slang? Theirs is so much more picturesque than ours. And I somehow ran across the word “chav,” which, as best I can tell, is what I had until now been calling “ghetto.” All things chav can be found here. Hilarious, I assure you. And I will never be tempted to wear Burberry plaid again. (But I didn’t like it much to begin with, so that’s no great loss.)

~ by wildeyedwonder on February 10, 2005.

One Response to “chav

  1. i love british slang, except when i’m clueless as to what they are talking about.

    my favorite story about this obvious (but very fun) cultural barrier was when a friend went to stay at a hotel in London and called the front desk to ask for a wake up call…

    so apparently, “what time do you want me to knock you up?” dosen’t mean the same thing over there as it does here. heh

Leave a Reply

 
