feeding my starving self

This morning I reset my alarm clock a couple too many times, but it was that sort of morning where you want to lay in bed just a little longer and revel in the feeling of spring slowly creeping closer. It’s warmer today, warm enough that I didn’t have to wear a jacket, warm enough that I don’t have to drink hot tea, warm enough that we have the windows open. And it feels wonderful. But that’s not what I wanted to say.
After finally dragging myself downstairs, I began to rummage about for something to pack for lunch. Now, understand that normally I stock a few things in the house for myself: Zone bars, baby carrots, fresh string beans (which I steam lightly and eat cold). But today the fact that I’ve forgotten to stop at Wal-mart catches up with me, and I’m left with a container of beef stew from last night’s dinner. For any normal person, beef stew would be more than enough. But am I a normal person? No. I have to pack at least three different things so I can munch throughout the day. One down, two to go.
I rummage through the lunchmeat drawer, and find scrapple. No, that won’t work for lunch. Oh, here’s something that looks like turkey. I sniff it. Smells ok. Pull out two pieces of bread (in the process pitching the moldy bagels that have snuck into the breadbox) and spread mayonaise all over. Then I try to lay on the ersatz turkey. It CRUMBLES.
I’m eating peanut butter and jelly for lunch today.

~ by wildeyedwonder on February 9, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
