not to be annoying

But this is wrong, and it greatly distracted me from the story. See, I started reading this article on CNN.com:

It looked just as it does in all the photos and films I’ve seen about Auschwitz. And the winds that blew across the fields, and the dusting of snow that fell the night before made the camp seem even starker than I’d imagined.

That was the opening paragraph. It’s a lovely opening paragraph, and the article seemed quite promising, but I was stopped by a word almost at the end: starker. Starker? Is that even a word? I don’t think so. So, being the good little homeschooled child (or maybe just daughter of Rebecca Myers) that I am, I looked it up. Surprisingly, it is! (Hah! You thought I was going to prove myself right! I thought so too, and if this were in a book, I would have. But this is not a book! This is REAL LIFE! And so even I, the incredible VDOprincess, am wrong. Sometimes.)
But I think there’s some sort of deep spiritual significance to the fact that “starkers” is British slang for “naked.” I like that…I think I’ll start using it.

~ by wildeyedwonder on January 27, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
